Motivation Mondays: 4 Steps To Turn ‘Someday’ Into Today


Ever find yourselves with friends talking about the things in life you’d like to do someday? The day dreams and wishes of goals you haven’t yet done?

“If I had the time I’d love focus more on my fitness, oh well, someday”, “Someday I’ll go back to school”, “I’ve always dreamed of traveling to Africa, maybe someday”, “Wouldn’t it be amazing to be on TV someday?”, “Someday I’ll find my dream job”.

What’s stopping you?

The house renovations aren’t done, there isn’t enough money, it’s not the right time for our family, there’s too many errands to run today, work is too busy, the summer weekends are already packed, the kids aren’t old enough.

Let me tell you a secret; there is no PERFECT time for your “someday” wishes.  You have to make them happen, not sit there and wish them away.

Yes, it means that you’re going to most likely sacrifice a few things to make you dream goal happen. It’ll mean perhaps that you stop going out to supper so often, that the house won’t be perfectly clean, that you have to budget more carefully, that you put off buying a new car, or that you spend one less event filled summer weekend, and let’s face it, work will always be busy.

Making temporary lifestyle changes whether it’s for a week, a month or a year are worth it to make your ‘someday’ goal today.

“I choose to live my life by choice not by chance”

How?

  1. Research: Find out the ‘who, what, where, when, why, how’ of your goal.
    1. Research the best time of year to accomplish this goal (especially for travel).
    2. Read through blogs and reviews, there’s a lot you can learn from the experience of others.
    3. Seek out the professionals (When it comes to fitness, health, and finances).
    4. Determine what is needed from you mentally/physically/financially to succeed.
    5. Join support groups (fitness/health goals)
  2. Plan
    1. Set a date
    2. Make a budget
    3. Create a schedule (backwards from your goal date, of all the mini goals you need to accomplish in order to be prepared for your end goal)
  3. Commit
    1. Tell someone about it (make yourself accountable)
    2. Financially commit (register for the event, sign up for a support group, deposit on a vacation)
    3. Mentally commit.
  4. Action
    1. Put your plan to action and stick with it

This last Saturday I brought my guy and his best friend skydiving. They’ve been talking about it for years, but have never made the arrangements or actually booked a skydive! Well, we put our heads together, figured out a date everyone would be available, checked out the pricing, started saving, and called the local skydiving center to booked tandems!

It was incredibly exciting for them to get one of their Life List items checked off and enjoy an adrenaline pumped once in a lifetime experience! They both LOVED it.

I’m working on a few ‘somedays’ myself! I’m researching the best schools and programs to pursue a new career, I’m in the midst of training for my first marathon in October.  I just completed my first triathlon yesterday and I’m making plans to travel back to Singapore in December.  Sure, I sacrifice a few things to accomplish these goals…but I know that when I reach an old age, they’ll be no regrets over  ‘someday’ wishes that weren’t experienced.

Thumbs up during my first sprint triathlon this Saturday!

What are you waiting for?

Leave a comment